Pacland's Philippine Boxing Forum

Discussion on boxing and other sports, Filipino greats and anything under the sun.
It is currently Wed Oct 16, 2019 4:01 pm

All times are UTC + 8 hours

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2012 5:08 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 2:25 pm
Posts: 591
This is interesting Trivia.

The last non-asian fighter to win this title was Gabriel Bernal of Mexico. He eventually lost the title to Shiot Chilatada of Thailand. Below is the list of the Asian fighters who won WBC 112lbs belt in succession.

Country Boxers Won Title
Thailand Shiot Chilatada 08-Oct-84
South Korea Yong Kang Kim 24-Jul-88
Thailand Shiot Chilatada 03-Jun-89
Thailand Muangchai Kittikasem 15-Feb-91
Japan Yuri Arbachakov 22-Jun-92
Thailand Chatchai Sasakul 09-May-97
Philippines Manny Pacquiao 04-Dec-98
Thailand Medgoen Singsurat 17-Sep-99
Philippines Malcolm Tunacao 19-May-00
Thailand Pongsaklek Wongjongkam02-Mar-01
Japan Daisuke Naito 18-Jul-07
Japan Koki Kameda 29-Nov-09
Thailand Pongsaklek Wongjongkam 27-Mar-10
Philippines Sonny Boy Jaro 02-Mar-12

For 28 years many boxers from Latin Countries particulary Mexico fight for the title but failed. Jorge Arce just manage to win the interim version.

Good Luck to Sonny Boy Jaro...

PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2012 9:47 am 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 12:55 am
Posts: 86
thanks, TS.

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 8 hours

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group