Pacland's Philippine Boxing Forum

Discussion on boxing and other sports, Filipino greats and anything under the sun.
It is currently Wed Jul 24, 2019 2:35 pm

All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon May 27, 2019 7:18 am 
Offline
Cruiserweight

Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 10:43 am
Posts: 2567
Location: East of Eden
Well, this rig had been acting up for quite some time and eventually died over a month ago. It no longer POSTs. It's most likely a dead UEFI (BIOS) chip or other motherboard-specific failure. The only way to know for certain is to get a new mobo and troubleshoot through the process of elimination.

Anyway, I will rebuild according to what components failed and what still works. Though it's an 8-year old tech, the Bulldozer FX-8120 is still a viable chip. An 8-core is still an 8-core. The rig also has 16GB (4GBx4) of DDR3 1600MHz RAM and a good ol' ever-reliable and potent workhorse in the Corsair Professional Series Gold AX1200 power supply unit -- no doubt a classic. So I will rebuild around these parameters and maybe some upgrades that I could get away with. Of course, there is an underlying significant reason why I am motivated to rebuild this older tech but that's a story or post later in this blog after I sort out this project. Stay tuned!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 27, 2019 7:42 am 
Offline
Cruiserweight

Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 10:43 am
Posts: 2567
Location: East of Eden
...and I also have a couple of Windows 10 Pro activation keys. I gotta use them somewhere somehow.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2019 2:48 am 
Offline
Cruiserweight

Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 10:43 am
Posts: 2567
Location: East of Eden
Since this is an older rig, all the more reason to be budget-conscious in rebuilding it. There aren't much choices out there for brand new Socket AM3+ ATX mobos. Some refurbs and used ones are sold at a premium. I refused to pay $150-$250 for an Asus and an older generation at that; not even for a current-generation build. I don't like Asus in the first place as they are as overhyped and as overpriced as Apple products. The cheapest (in price) new one I found is a GIGABYTE GA-970A-DS3P (rev. 2.1) for under $70.

https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/GA-970A-DS3P-rev-2x#ov

I'll soon know if it's the FX-8120 or the old mobo that died or perhaps a faulty RAM module that caused the failed boot.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2019 11:45 am 
Offline
Cruiserweight

Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 10:43 am
Posts: 2567
Location: East of Eden
...and speaking of used motherboards sold at a premium, here's one that is exactly the same as the original/old board. The price is so hilarious to a point that it is ridiculous. Fvck that chit. :biglaugh:

https://www.newegg.com/p/N82E16813130600


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 01, 2019 10:21 am 
Offline
Heavyweight
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 1:04 pm
Posts: 7962
hindi paba nagka tambak tambak ang mga RIGZ mo mang kolokoy.
parang lagi kang nag a asemble ng mga iyan ah. sakin basta may flash player lang at google chrome Oks na oks na. :D

_________________
"It's your place in the world; it's your life. Go on and do all you can with it, and make it the life you want to live. " -Mae Jemison


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 01, 2019 3:37 pm 
Offline
Cruiserweight

Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 10:43 am
Posts: 2567
Location: East of Eden
It's just a rebuild though.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 01, 2019 5:17 pm 
Offline
Cruiserweight

Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 10:43 am
Posts: 2567
Location: East of Eden
So I did the usual pre-build bench test with the old components (FX-8120, Corsair H80 AIO, 4GBx4 Corsair Vengeance RAM modules, Corsair AX1200 PSU and an old known-working spare EVGA GeForce GTX 660 Ti FTW graphics card) on the new Giga mobo. It's the moment of truth and my initial hunch on the culprit being a fried mobo was correct. It fired right up and the UEFI (BIOS) loaded. Not much of a process of elimination :biglaugh:. But then it shut right back down before I could explore the UEFI menu. I tried to boot it up a coupla more times with the same result but on the last one, I was able to take a glimpse at the CPU temp before it shut down again. The temp was over 80°C and climbing, hence the auto shutdown kicked in. I almost burned my finger when I tried to feel the side of the FX-8120 heat sink underneath the AIO coldplate while the pump/waterblock housing and the bottom of the radiator was cold. So ya, CPUs get hot that fast without an adequate cooler and it wasn't even doing much; just booting up. Just imagine it running daily for years under constant high load. It's a testament to the necessity and the effectiveness of component coolers (CPU, GPU, PCH, etc.).

I guess the old Corsair H80 AIO have had it after trying to cool down the FX-8120 that had virtually been running 24/7 in constant high load for about 7 years; it boggles the mind. The pump impeller most likely got gunked up by galvanic corrosion residue while sitting idle for a couple of months or the the motor itself just finally died. I could also hear the coolant slushing around inside the loop when I move/tilt it back and forth. Some of the coolant seems to have evaporated after all those years and having lots of air inside a closed loop liquid cooling system is never good for the pump.

So I went to a local retailer to shop for a budget replacement AIO CPU cooler. I got an Enermax LIQMAX II ELC-LMR120S-BS. It was a clearance sale item for under $50 and it's the last one, brand new, unopened and still sealed. Sometimes I do get lucky. :biglaugh:

https://www.newegg.com/p/N82E16835214062


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2019 3:05 pm 
Offline
Cruiserweight

Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 10:43 am
Posts: 2567
Location: East of Eden
Components recycled from the old rig:

AMD FX-8120 Zambezi 8-Core Black Edition CPU
https://www.amazon.com/AMD-FX-8120-8-Core-Processor-Socket/dp/B005UBNKZG/ref=olp_product_details?_encoding=UTF8&me=

Corsair Vengeance 16 GB (4GB x 4) DDR3 1600 MHz RAM
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004CRSM4I/ref=olp_product_details?ie=UTF8&me=&seller=

Corsair Professional Series Gold AX1200 PSU
https://www.corsair.com/us/en/Categories/Products/Power-Supply-Units/Professional-Series%E2%84%A2-Gold-AX1200-%E2%80%94-80-PLUS%C2%AE-Gold-Certified-Fully-Modular-Power-Supply/p/CMPSU-1200AX

Corsair Force Series 3 2.5" 120GB SSD (2x RAID 0 - boot drive)
https://www.newegg.com/corsair-force-series-3-120gb/p/N82E16820233206

Western Digital Caviar Blue 160 GB HDD (2x RAID 0 - intermediate storage)
https://www.newegg.com/p/N82E16822136075


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2019 11:57 pm 
Offline
Cruiserweight

Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 10:43 am
Posts: 2567
Location: East of Eden
I decided to upgrade this rebuild with the same case I got for the recent Ryzen build and getting rid of this leviathan.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 03, 2019 2:26 am 
Offline
Cruiserweight

Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 10:43 am
Posts: 2567
Location: East of Eden
The old rig has a pair of ASUS Radeon HD 7850 DirectCU II in it but I am not using any of it in the rebuild cuz they have an open-shroud design that releases heat inside the case and I intend the rebuild to be a closed rig with the upgraded case.

Instead, I dusted off an old spare EVGA GeForce GTX 660 Ti FTW for now as it has a closed blower-type shroud (reference-card style) that expels all the hot air through its rear vents. It's not an efficient miner though (Nvidia cards never really are compared to AMDs) so I will eventually replace it with an RX Vega like the one I got for the recent Ryzen build or similar reference-style card with closed blower-type shroud.

https://i.postimg.cc/DZDK8Z43/IMG-0033.jpg
https://i.postimg.cc/G2vZhQRG/IMG-0035.jpg


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 03, 2019 5:20 am 
Offline
Cruiserweight

Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 10:43 am
Posts: 2567
Location: East of Eden
I also wanted to upgrade the rebuild with an M.2 NVMe SSD but it turned out to be a more complicated endeavor or adventure that I bargained for.

M.2 NVMe has only been supported by more recent/current/newer mobos but definitely not by the mobo I have for this rebuild (an 8-year-old tech, remember?) and booting from it is a totally different animal in itself. My board doesn't even have a native M.2 NVMe socket. I'm using an M.2 NVMe to PCIe adapter/expansion card (some boards, though with native M.2 NVMe sockets and therefore support, still fail to see it throught a PCIe slot so that's a different animal right there). From what I've gathered, even some somewhat older~newer mobos that have M.2 MVMe support could only use them strictly as storage drives but not a boot drive; again, yet another animal. That's because unlike the UEFI of more current mobos that are able to boot from an M.2 NVMe SSD, the UEFI of older mobos is missing a certain module (or modules) that enables it to be aware of and recognize M.2 NVMe SSDs and consequently boot from them. If your mobo has the legacy BIOS, then fuggedaboutit! :biglaugh:

Initially, my board's UEFI doesn't see the M.2 NVMe SSD mounted on the M.2 NVMe to PCIe adapter which in turn is mounted into an available PCIe x16 slot. Interestingly, when I booted up with the Windows 10 installation media, W10 recognized the drive and allowed me to proceed. But then when W10 rebooted to finalize the installation, it failed. When I checked the boot priority section in UEFI, "Windows Boot Manager" didn't show up as an option. Therein lies the problem.

Anyway, I ended up modding my mobo's UEFI by inserting the appropriate module that makes it "M.2 NVMe-aware" and allows booting from it and then flashed it back into the motherboard. Now it works and Windows 10 Pro installed successfully without a hitch. I now have a modern 8-year-old motherboard that can do M.2 NVMe. :biglaugh:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 03, 2019 7:51 am 
Offline
Cruiserweight

Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 10:43 am
Posts: 2567
Location: East of Eden
A dirt-cheap budget M.2 NVMe to PCIe x16 slot adapter for the SSD:
https://i.postimg.cc/Z5tXNLWv/IMG-0007.jpg

I'm using an Intel 660p Series M.2 2280 1TB PCIe NVMe 3.0 x4; the same as one of the two NVMe SSDs I got for the recent Ryzen build:
https://i.postimg.cc/yYpYQg3Y/IMG-0053.jpg


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 03, 2019 1:27 pm 
Offline
Cruiserweight

Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 10:43 am
Posts: 2567
Location: East of Eden
The 1TB Intel 660p NVMe SSD is now the boot drive as well as a blockchain data drive for several of the crypto wallets/nodes that I maintain (I run them in all of my boxes for redundancy/backup). That said, the recycled 240GB Corsair SATA SSDs (120GBx2 RAID 0) that used to be the old boot drive will store blockchain data as well. The recycled 320GB WD Caviar Blue SATA HDDs (160GBx2 RAID 0) will be for temporary/intermediate storage. This rig is a dedicated miner and blockchain server so there's no need to equip it with large-capacity HDDs for long-term storage.

It turned out that the Intel 660p SSD doesn't need a heat sink at all. It's directly over the floor fan and feels cool to the touch even at high load.

https://i.postimg.cc/Df9dr4RB/IMG-0088.jpg


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 03, 2019 2:51 pm 
Offline
Cruiserweight

Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 10:43 am
Posts: 2567
Location: East of Eden
WTF!

A standard ATX motherboard is 12" x 9.6". A Micro ATX board is 9.6" x 9.6" (basically shortening a standard ATX's length to 9.6" resulting in a 9.6" square PCB). These are valid standards.

This GIGABYTE GA-970A-DS3P motherboard has a dimension of 12" x 8.5"...pretty much an inch narrower than a standard ATX and a Micro ATX. There is no such standard for a motherboard dimension. As a result, the placement of the CPU and the RAM sockets also shifter to the left by about an inch. Why? WTF were they thinking? I don't think it's about saving a few cents worth of a 12" x 1" strip of PCB. I knew there was something odd about the mobo as soon as I pulled it out of its box but it's one of those fleeting moments that don't register in the brain which we instinctively dismiss and move on from...but it surely came back to haunt me when I installed the CPU AIO cooler.

I barely have clearance to mount the AIO. In fact, there's no clearance at all as the rubber tube fittings is pushing a bit on the RAM module on the right and the pump unit's edge is in contact with the edge of the radiator fan on the left.

WTF Gigabyte!

https://i.postimg.cc/BZBgdtvV/IMG-0065.jpg


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2019 3:10 am 
Offline
Cruiserweight

Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 10:43 am
Posts: 2567
Location: East of Eden
The recycled/repurposed RAID 0 SSDs and HDDs as well as the recycled PSU.

https://i.postimg.cc/59ZGHMyg/IMG-0180.jpg


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

philboxing.com | pinoygreats.com
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group